Local MPs attacked over Post Office closures

Post office logo

A leading local Liberal Democrat has criticised our two local MPs for their failure to support a Parliamentary campaign to save Post Offices threatened with closure by the Labour government.

As of today, 95 MPs of all the main parties have signed an Early Day Motion which rejects the plan to close as many as 2500 post offices and calls for longer consultation and more work to be done on business expansion to help individual post offices to remain open. The motion has been signed by Birmingham Lib Dem MP, John Hemming and Solihull Lib Dem MP, Lorely Burt.

In a statement issued to this website, Cllr Ann Holtom who represents Tyburn Ward in the Erdington constituency has strongly regretted the failure of Labour Erdington MP Sion Simon and Sutton Tory Andrew Mitchell to join this protest to date. Under the last Conservative government over 3000 post offices closed. The current closure programme is driven by the present Labour government. The refusal of both our local MPs to support this particular initiative so far comes after it was disclosed to the Liberal Democrats that the Labour party has ordered the closure programme put on hold until after the May local elections because they fear it will lose them votes.

You can read the Early Day Motion and see the MPs who voted for it at the related link below:

Related Links